Originally built as a vicarage, The Grange is a charming Georgian house found in the most beautiful part of Rottingdean village. For visitors, The Grange is also an official visitor information point, and offers tourist information, pamphlets and maps for Rottingdean and the surrounding area, making it an excellent stop for all visitors to the area.
Built in 1802, Beacon Mill is one of Rottingdean's most famous landmarks. The black smock mill was a working mill until 1881. Today, it is preserved by the Rottingdean Preservation Society, and the ground and first floors are open to the public. Though little of the original milling machinery now remains, Beacon Mill remains a favourite amongst mill enthusiasts and is a much-beloved sight on the Rottingdean skyline.
Located in the northeastern corner of the Green, the most ancient heart of Rottingdean village, St Margaret's Church dates back to the thirteenth century, and while it has received many repairs and additions over the centuries, the main structures of nave, tower and chancel are still original.
One of the most famous all-girls schools in Britain, Roedean School in an independent day and boarding school for girls aged 11 to 18. The school was originally founded in 1885 by three sisters, Penelope, Dorothy and Millicent Lawrence, who sought to offer exemplary education for girls and prepare them for the newly founded women's colleges at universities such as Cambridge.
Situated in the oldest and most beautiful part of Rottingdean, the Grange was originally a Georgian vicarage and is now an art gallery and museum. The Grange showcases a wide array of regularly changing art exhibitions by local artists, schools and others. Managed by the Rottingdean Preservation Society, the Grange has been meticulously maintained, and also serves as an official visitor information point that offers free guidance and information for tourists to the Rottingdean area.
Rottingdean's most iconic landmark, this black smock mill was built in 1802 and served as a working mill until 1881. Today it is maintained through the hard efforts of the Rottingdean Preservation Society, and its ground and first floors are open to the public for viewing. Not much of the original mill machinery can now be seen, but Beacon Mill's iconic exterior make it a much-loved focal point on the Rottingdean horizon.
St Margaret's Church
St Margaret's Church dates back to the thirteenth century and can be found in the oldest part of Rottingdean village. The building itself has received numerous repairs and additions over the years, although the core structures, including the nave, chancel and tower, are still original. St Margaret's Church is especially known for its famous stained glass trefoil and lancet windows, designed in the late nineteenth century by Edward Burne-Jones. Today the church serves as the Anglican seat of the parish of Rottingdean.
Towering over the hillside between Rottingdean and Kemptown is Roedean School, one of the most famous all-girls school in the UK. Roedean is an independent day and boarding school for girls aged 11 to 18, and was originally founded by three sisters - Dorothy, Penelope and Millicent Lawrence - who strove to provide excellent education for girls to prepare them for the newly opened women's colleges. Today Roedean is known across the world for its top-quality education, and remains one of Sussex's most recognisable landmarks.
GET IN CONTACT: 01273 944 800
All calls may be recorded for
training or monitoring purposes.